Taco Thursday and Guacamole with a Twist!

First of all, I know it is not really Thursday anymore, but we ended up doing a bit more wedding planning last night than I bargained for. Second, I am not sure why I find the idea of Tacos on Tuesday and Thursday are so awesome, but seriously, they are. I am 89.99% sure it has to do with the alliteration, but whatever. Cinco de Mayo is also right around the corner…convenient!

My fiancé and I love tacos. And margaritas. There is a little Mexican place down the road from us that we recently discovered and now love! Unfortunately, most of my favorite Mexican cuisine is not the most healthy, which is why a lot of the time we end up eating in to save calories AND money.

One of my most favorite Mexican items (aside from a good old taco) is guacamole. Or guac as I like to call it. And nothing beats making your own homemade guac. (Yes, I know guac doesn’t have cheese in it, but when you put it on a taco, like I am about to do, the cheese on the taco makes up for it!)

I had a little more fun experimenting with this recipe, mostly because I need to go grocery shopping so I was a bit limited on supplies.

Here is my tried and true recipe for making guac, with a twist…

Image

Guacamole

Serves: 4 Prep: 20 mins

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados, peeled and halved

1 lime or 2 small limes, juiced

½ tsp cayenne pepper

½ tsp red chili flakes

½ tsp ground mustard

½ medium onion, diced

1 ½ tbsp. chopped cilantro

1 clove garlic

7-8 cherry tomatoes (see below)

Sea salt, to taste

Directions:

Mash avocados in a bowl and add in next 7 ingredients. Stir until well blended. Add in cherry tomatoes and stir. Add salt as desired. Serve on top of tacos, with chips, or anything else you can come up with!

 

 Image

So, about those tomatoes…I discovered these little gems at my local grocery store. And they were so delicious! I loved how they really brought a nice, colorful twist to my guacamole.

 Image

Here is a look at my taco. It is, of course, sitting on a lovely mound of shredded cheese! And yes, I like hot sauce…a lot, and yes that tortilla is bigger than my head, but I needed larger ones for an upcoming recipe…so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

